June 12: South West states declare Monday public holiday

June 12: South West states declare Monday public holiday

Image result for South West governors declare Monday holiday to mark June 12 anniversaryThe six governors of Osun, Oyo, Ekiti, Ondo, Ogun and Lagos states, southwest Nigeria have declared Monday public holiday to honour the winner of the June 12, 1993 presidential election, Moshood Abiola.

The states have also lined activities to mark the anniversary.

The governors in a separate press statements issued on Sunday, announced Monday as public holiday to mark the 24th year anniversary of Nigeria’s most peaceful general elections.

The election which was widely adjudged most peaceful in the political history of the country was annulled by the then military head of state, General Ibrahim Badamosi Babangida.

Abiola who contested the presidential election under platform of the Social Democratic Party alongside his running mate, Babangana Kingibe, defeated his closest rival, Bashir Tofa of the National Republican Convention, NRC.

Justifying the essence for the public holiday, the governors unanimously  agreed that June 12, 1993 presidential elections laid the foundation for the present democratic rule the country is enjoying today. Describing it as the mother of the Democracy Day in Nigeria, the governors alluded to the fact that sacrifice made by Nigerians and late chief M.K.O Abiola cannot be forgotten in a hurry.

The southwest governors however called on the federal government to recognise June 12 as a national holiday so as to adequately appreciate the efforts of our heroes.



leave a reply