Caster Semenya out of athletics world championship after new court ruling

Image result for CASTER SEMENYA OUT OF ATHLETICS WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPSDouble Olympic champion Caster Semenya has announced that she will not defend her 800-metres title at the World Championships in September.

Caster made this known after the Swiss Federal Tribunal reversed a ruling that temporarily lifted the IAAF’s testosterone regulations imposed on her.

Semenya is appealing the Court of Arbitration for Sport’s (CAS) ruling that supported regulations introduced by the sport’s governing body, the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF).

They say that XY chromosome athletes with differences in sexual development (DSDs) can race in distances from 400m to a mile only if they take medication to reach a reduced testosterone level.

leave a reply

TVC News Special Reports