BREAKING: Buhari, Osinbajo receive certificates of return

The Independent National Electoral Commission has presented certificates of return to the President-elect, Muhammadu Buhari and his vice, Yemi Osinbajo.

Professor Yemi Osinbajo was presented with his copy of the certificate of return first before the President Buhari mounted the podium.

In his speech, the president promised an open-door policy as well as an inclusive government. He also remembered Nigerians who lost their lives in the election.

Chairman of the commission and returning officer for Presidential election, Mahmood Yakubu, declared Muhammadu Buhari of the All Progressives Congress winner of the February 23rd presidential election.

Buhari won his reelection with 15,191,847 votes to defeat his closest rival and candidate of the main opposition party, Atiku Abubakar, who polled a total of 11,262,978, representing 55.60% and 41.22% respectively.

President Buhari won in 19 states – Ogun, Lagos, Ekiti, Osun, Kwara, Nasarawa, Kogi, Yobe, Katsina, Kano, Jigawa, Gombe, Sokoto, Bauchi, Kebbi, Niger, Kaduna and Borno

Atiku won in 17 states and the FCT – Oyo, Ondo, Edo, Rivers, Bayelsa, Akwa Ibom, Abia, Enugu, Anambra, Imo, Cross River, FCT, Adamawa, Taraba, Benue, Plateau, Delta and Ebonyi,

leave a reply