FG approves 159 new radio, television stations

FG approves 159 new radio, television stations

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the operation of radio and television stations by 159 companies, communities, and institutions of higher learning.

Malam Balarabe Ilelah, the Director General of the National Broadcasting Commission (NBC), made the announcement Wednesday in Abuja.

“Following the approval granted by the President, NBC has released the list of 159 licences granted to companies, communities and institutions of higher learning.

“The commission was established by the NBC Act, Cap. N11, Laws of the Federation 2004, with the mandate to regulate and control broadcasting in Nigeria.

“Today, there are a total of 625 functional broadcast stations in Nigeria,” Ilelah said.

The Federal Polytechnic Ilaro (Radio), Prospective Union of Reno People (Radio), Smile Community Radio Initiative, and International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) Radio were among the newly approved licenses, according to the NBC boss.

He said others are: Dudu African Broadcasting Communications Limited, Independent Television, Prince Media Network, Jamkat Integrity Investment Limited, Hikima Media Services, and Galaxy Television Radio.

The NBC head also listed other licenses as H-i Fidelity Communications, B360 Nigeria Limited, Communication Faculties Limited, Godfrey Okoye University Radio, Art Broadcasting Company, Hamdana Media, Sunshine Radio, Blue Print Newspapers Limited, NV Broadcasting Company Limited, among others.

leave a reply