Buhari nominates non-career ambassadors, NERC chairman, others

President Muhammadu Buhari has written to the Senate seeking the screening and confirmation of three non-career ambassadorial nominees.

In various letters read at Wednesday’s plenary by Senate President, Bukola Saraki, the list of the non-career ambassadorial nominees includes Justice Sylvanus Nsofor whose nomination was earlier rejected by the Senate. His name was resubmitted to represent Imo state.

Joseph Olusola Iji was nominated to represent Ondo state while Commodore Yusuf Jonga Ina is to represent Gombe state after the former nominee from the state was elevated as a ministerial nominee.

Also nominated for various executive positions in the government are Professor James Momoh as Chairman of the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission.

Four non-executive directors of the board of the Central Bank of Nigeria nominated are: Professor Umar Jalingo representing Northeast, Professor Josiah Nwabuikwu representing Southeast, Doctor Abdul Abubakar representing Northwest and Adeola Adetunji representing Southwest.

President Buhari also urged the Senate to expedite the screening and confirmation of the executive nominees.

leave a reply